The Trapp Villa was occupied by the ”Missionaries of the Precious Blood” from 1947 to 2008. In this time the order lived very retracted and the Villa was closed to the public. Now it is different.
Guests can live in the rooms where the von Trapps used to live. You can sleep in the dormitories of the family members and walk on there paths throughout the house and garden.
The historic landmark Villa Trapp - where it all began
Salzburg is acknowledged as the World’s most visited movie site, and the historic Villa Trapp is the only “real gem” in the number of movie sets and composed shots of the Trapp home. It served as the centre of the Trapps family life between 1923 to 1938.
The charming structure was built in 1863 by the Friulian Architect Valentin Ceconi. It is settled in a park with old trees in the district of Aigen, not far from the historic centre of Salzburg. Soon after the erection, the proprietor, Salzburg’s governor Count Hugo Lamberg, enlarged the estate. Georg von Trapp then brought the house into its final shape. The 22- room building itself, with its mansard roof and slightly yellow colour, makes an elegant impression. Soon after the family’s financial situation became precarious, Maria rented out rooms for guests. A large room was converted into a chapel. It was this holy room where the historic meeting between Maria and Father Franz Wasner took place; Wasner was sent by the bishop to hold the Easter mass in 1936, not knowing that the “Trapp Family Choir” would change his live forever.
Only a few steps away for the garden porch, there is the Aigen train station. From here, trains run through the middle of Europe through the Alps to the South – to freedom.
In 1938, the Trapps left forever. One year later, the “Missionaries of the Precious Blood” rented the villa. Less than a year later, the Nazis occupied the site. Heinrich Himmler, Head of the SS and one of the major slaughterers of the holocaust, used it as his summer occupation. The place was surrounded with armed guards and barbed wire. Barracks for the SS were placed into the garden. One can even be seen today, serving to deliver radio messages to Berlin.
In the summer of 1947, the Missionaries returned and bought the villa from the Trapp family. After a renovation in 1992, the Order moved into a nearby building, and rented the Villa to a company, which converted the villa in a hotel in 2008. For the first time in history, exactly 70 years after the Trapps left, the public is allowed to the grounds. Today, the Villa Trapp has regained its old glory. It is the only Original historic site and no film set of the Robert Wise movie. Only here, you can follow the authentic footsteps of the von Trapp Family, the real place, where it all began. While the birds are singing in the old trees of the park, close your eyes and relive it again - the first confession of love between Maria and the Baron, the laughter of a child in the large staircase, the first melodies from the lips of the Family Choir under the branches of the trees… to world stardom.